Friday, August 07, 2020


The Church of England

The roots of the Church of England go back to the time of the Roman Empire when Christianity entered the Roman province of Britain. Through the influences of St Alban, St Illtud, St Ninian, St Patrick and, later, St Augustine, St Aidan and St Cuthbert, the Church of England developed, acknowledging the authority of the Pope until the Reformation in the 16th century.

The Diocese of London

The Diocese of London is made up of five areas. Four of these have an Area Bishop, to whom the Bishop of London delegates certain responsibilities.

The Bishops are assisted by Archdeacons. The term 'Archdeaconry' is used to describe the territorial area in which the Archdeacon has special powers. Archdeaconries are further sub-divided into deaneries which are groups of parishes.

The diocesan cathedral is St Paul's Cathedral and the administrative centre is London Diocesan House.

The Bishop of Fulham is the Suffragan Bishop for the whole diocese.

The City of London Deanery

The City of London Deanery represents all the parish and guild churches within the ‘Square Mile’. These churches belong to the Diocese of London which is part of the  Church of England. 

Whether you are a visitor wishing to explore the many beautiful churches in the City or a church member requiring information, enjoy exploring the Deanery of the City of London.